Thinking and Writing

All Settled and a Day of Greek

with 2 comments

I have been meaning to post an update the last few days as my schedule has been very hectic, but I wanted to jump on here and give a tour of my place and update the congregation on the last few days’ events.  Though I got a case of the jitters on my way down last week, Concordia has grown on me in wonderful ways.  I love being in St. Louis and on campus.  Every person I have met has been caring and fun and pleasant to be around and talk with.  Orientation was a bit arduous albeit entertaining (we had to sit for long periods of time on hard, uncomfortable chairs) but God is definitely evident in the professors and staff that run Concordia and broke us in for the coming quarter.

My folks were in town for a little bit to see the school and enjoy St. Louis (and also to bring me the rest of the stuff I either could not fit in my car or forgot to bring altogether).  It was great to spend time with them in this place.  We got around downtown St. Louis, ate lunch in the Loop, strolled around the zoo and made it up to the top of the Arch.  The area has some rich and fascinating history, and learning about it with my mom and dad was great (and hilarious).

They helped me put together and clean up my room and get everything situated in my little piece of Concordia.

My Room

This is my room.

My Desk

This is where the studying happens.

Martin Luther

Martin makes sure I stay on track with my work.

I had my first class of Greek today.  What a fascinating language!  I learned the Greek alphabet as well as its vowels, diphthongs and a bit of pronunciation.  I love the Greek alphabet.  Maybe it is my interest in graphic design and typography; the language has such beautiful letter forms.  Hebrew does as well, but I have to wait until next quarter to tackle that.  My teacher is great to listen to and my classmates are funny and pleasant to study with.  My professor made a great analogy to describe the importance of learning biblical languages: it’s comparable to watching a movie.  When you watch it in standard definition on a black and white TV, you can enjoy the film and not lose the plot and characters and relationships.  But when you watch a film in a theater, in high definition, you see the film the way the director really intended it to be viewed, with beautiful colors and specific shot framing and composition.  Learning to read the Bible in its original language will give me the opportunity to see the literature in its original context and syntax, enabling me to glean even more from the Word.  I’m pumped.

I have yet to show a tour of campus here, but I did want to leave you with a nice photo of the Quad that I shot and put together when I got here.  Enjoy!

Quad Photosphere

Photosphere image of the Quad

Written by kedjones

September 7, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Kyle glad you made it!

    Cori

    Cori

    September 8, 2010 at 7:51 am

  2. Hey, we love St Louis and spending the time with you. I love your blog. Thanks for all the updates and pictures. Can’t wait to plan our next trip to visit you. love ya

    Ed

    September 10, 2010 at 9:27 pm


Leave a Reply

