Thinking and Writing

Time Flies When You’re Learning Greek

leave a comment »

My goodness, the last few weeks have been a blur.  Apologies for not keeping up-to-date; between full-swing Greek, several weddings (congratulations Chrysta and Barrett, Mike and Krystin!) and work, I lost track of time.

Though it has certainly been a pleasant, albeit busy, couple of weeks, I am definitely looking forward to having a break in 2 weeks when the quarter ends.  I cannot believe how much I have learned!  The more I learn, the more it makes me want to learn more and that feels great.

It is a brisk October evening here in St. Louis, the leaves are turning and falling, and it reminds me a little bit of autumn in Michigan.  Everyone is getting excited for Halloween, costume planning and event organization occurring all over.  Last night, my dorm counselor Nick asked to borrow some sunglasses to complete his Neo costume from The Matrix.  He does a pretty good impression of Keanu Reeves, which is hilarious.

I’m particularly excited for the opportunity to see Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho at the St. Louis Symphony on Saturday.  During the screening, a live string section is playing score of the film.  Alfred Hitchcock is one of my favorite directors, and to be able to see Psycho on the big screen with a live orchestra is so exciting!

Psycho

I was planning on showing you a quick peek of my work, so I will proceed to that.  I work for Technology Services here on campus, and my job is filming and editing video projects of the Seminary and the Synod.

Studio

This is our film studio.

Studio

From the other side

Andrew

My video buddy Andrew running the teleprompter for an interview with Dr. Meyer

A/V Room

A/V room in the chapel. Services are recorded from this room.

I really enjoy this job.  The people I work with are great and the job is interesting and utilizes my undergraduate degree.  Plus I get to play with all kinds of cool cameras and microphones and stuff.
I have to get rolling on some Greek homework.  I will be studying with the 3 Stooges tonight.
Eric, Andy and Harry

Eric, Andy and Harry, my neighbors.

Good night!

Written by kedjones

October 28, 2010 at 7:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

